S/2014/248 **United Nations**



Distr.: General 4 April 2014

Original: English

Letter dated 4 April 2014 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

I have the honour to refer to Security Council resolution 2141 (2014), by which the Council decided to extend until 5 April 2015 the mandate of the Panel of Experts, as specified in paragraph 26 of resolution 1874 (2009), and requested me to take the necessary administrative measures to that effect.

Accordingly, I wish to inform you that, after consulting with the Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006), I have appointed the following experts:

Mr. Katsuhisa Furukawa, Japan (nuclear issues)

Mr. Hugh Griffiths, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (air transport)

Mr. Chang Guo, China (other weapons of mass destruction and conventional arms)

Mr. Dmitry Kiku, Russian Federation (customs and export controls)

Mr. Jang-keun Lee, Republic of Korea (weapons of mass destruction arms control and non-proliferation policy)

Mr. William J. Newcomb, United States of America (finance)

Mr. Neil Watts, South Africa (maritime transport)

I have also reappointed the following expert to serve on the Panel of Experts for a period of up to seven months, when he will reach the maximum period of service under the applicable rules and regulations of the United Nations:

Mr. Erik Marzolf, France (missile technology)

I have designated Mr. Marzolf to serve as Coordinator of the Panel of Experts for the remainder of his term on the Panel.

I should be grateful if you would bring this information to the attention of the members of the Security Council.

(Signed) BAN Ki-moon





